Off the Radar and On Again

16 Nov

This blog has lain lifeless under dust and dew for days, weeks, months, short of 2 years to be exact. Much hasn’t been said about the writer apart from her love affair with the food industry. Well, dim the lights and pull up your seats – it’s time for a little storytelling.  

Hi Readers.

Talkingwithyourmouthfull has been sitting idle for a painfully long time..And I’ve got some explaining to do. Thus, I’ve decided to share a little of the adventures/misadventures of the past 2 years or so – and explain why this blog grinded to a halt rather abruptly. It’s quite a story, I must admit.

A brief background: I’m a pastry chef by trade and shortly after starting this blog, was launched into the grit of full-time, pre-dawn shifts at a local production kitchen. Things went pretty swell amidst the hectic flurry of work, eating sprees, activities etc.

Until one fine day, I called in sick to work.

I never get ill, I’m pretty fit & strong; so when I went down with a high fever for 2 solid weeks – there was reason for concern and was admitted into hospo. Diagnosed with a funny-sounding autoimmune thingamajig, things unpredictably spun out of control when I caught a lethal secondary infection. I was moved to the ICU.

Things got pretty serious pretty fast, but it was in this time that God came to the rescue. As friends and family joined hearts in intense prayer – quite remarkably, very unexpectedly, I took a turn for the better. Miracle? Absolutely.

*~Lord be praised~*

I recovered rather quickly from then on and after 2 months of living within the blue walls of the hospital, I walked out happy, alive and free.

Upon recovery I started baking again at home and this garnered some interest from friends. Orders started rolling in and positive feedback followed. And so, with a little pluck and a truckload of fondant – I launched SugarSugar Cakes, an online business specializing in novelty & wedding cakes. Check it out HERE (*and drop in a ‘Like’ on the way!). 

There was also the added joy of getting married early this Spring. A simple, blessed union amid blooms and bunting.

And yes – I made the cake.

Thence dear readers, now that the ebbs & rises of life have seemingly settled, I say – let’s start blogging again shall we?

xo Amanda

P/S: My sincere apologies for not responding to emails/invites etc. during my lengthy hiatus. I’ll do my best not to disappear again!

Leave a Reply

